Friday, 14 April 2017

Provinces of British India in 1947.

At the time of independence in 1947, British India had 17 provinces:

01.    Ajmer-Merwara
02.    Andaman and Nicobar Islands
03.    Assam
04.    Baluchistan
05.    Bengal
06.    Bihar
07.    Bombay
08.    Central Provinces and Berar
09.    Coorg
10.    Delhi
11.    Madras
12.    North-West Frontier
13.   Orissa
14.   Panth-Piploda
15.   Punjab
16.    Sind
17.   United Provinces

Upon the Partition of British India into the Dominion of India and Dominion of Pakistan, 11 provinces (Ajmer-Merwara-Kekri, Andaman, Nicobar Islands, Bihar, Bombay, Central Provinces and Berar, Coorg, Delhi, Madras, Panth-Piploda, Orissa, and the United Provinces) joined India, 3 (Baluchistan, North-West Frontier, and Sindh) joined Pakistan, and 3 (Punjab, Bengal, and Assam) were partitioned between India and Pakistan.

In 1950, after the new Indian Constitution was adopted, the provinces in India were replaced by redrawn states and union territories. Pakistan, however, retained its five provinces, one of which, East Bengal, was renamed East Pakistan in 1956 and became the independent nation of Bangladesh in 1971.