Thursday, 30 June 2016

Provinces of British India.

At the turn of the 20th century, British India consisted of eight provinces that were administered either by a Governor or a Lieutenant-Governor.

During the partition of Bengal (1905–1912), a new Lieutenant-Governor's province of Eastern Bengal and Assam existed. In 1912, the partition was partially reversed, with the eastern and western halves of Bengal re-united and the province of Assam re-established; a new Lieutenant-Governor's province of Bihar and Orissa was also created.

The list of provinces. (but does not include those of the dependent Native States).

1 Burma.

2. Bengal.

3. Madras.

4. Bombay.

5. United Provinces.

6. Central Provinces.

7. Punjab.

8. Assam.

In addition, there were a few minor provinces that were administered by a Chief Commissioner:

1. North-West Frontier Province.

2. British Baluchistan.

3. Coorg.

4. Ajmer-Merwara.

5. Rajputana.

6. Andaman and Nicobar Islands.